Skip to main content

Sanitary District Act of 1923

The Carmel Area Wastewater District is an independent Special District of the State of California operating under the Sanitary District Act of 1923.  The District is a public agency administered by a duly elected five member Board of Directors.

Health and Safety Code §6400 et seq.

Powers and Functions: Maintain and operate sewers and treatment works.

Formation: Any county, or in two or more counties within the same natural watershed area.

5 Directors, elected by resident voters to 4 year terms.

Join our mailing list