Skip to main content

Monterey Peninsula Water Management District

MPWMD is a special district created by the Monterey Peninsula Water Management District Act, Statutes of 1977, Chapter 527, to provide regional water supply planning within a 170 square mile area consisting primarily of the Monterey Peninsula and Carmel Valley, California. Within MPWMD’s boundaries are the incorporated cities of Carmel-by-the-Sea, Del Rey Oaks, Monterey, Pacific Grove, Sand City and Seaside, in addition to portions of unincorporated Monterey County. The District is empowered to manage and regulate the use, reuse, reclamation, conservation, storage, distribution, treatment, and disposal of water and wastewater within its jurisdiction.

The District is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors, five elected at large and two appointed. The District’s revenues are derived from property taxes, user fees, and connection charges. The District’s stated goals and objectives are to: (1) augment the water supply, (2) prevent degradation of resources, (3) optimize the production capability of present resources, (4) manage water demand, (5) promote water reclamation, and (6) promote water conservation and education regarding water issues. All tertiary treated water produced by the Project is owned by MPWMD.

Join our mailing list